Queen wasp – nest building

When I opened my shed door yesterday morning, I almost walked straight into this queen wasp who had just started building a nest inside the door frame.

waspbuildingnest3
A queen wasp just beginning the foundation for her nest

This queen will have over-wintered and is now desperate to build a nest, lay her eggs (that were fertilised at the end of last summer) and start rearing her young. Sadly for her, the doorway of a shed I use every day wasn’t a good choice.

I felt bad about it, but I removed the nest stem that she’d started to build, and then left the shed wide open all day to discourage her from coming back. I watched for a while as she frantically searched for where she’d begun building. But by the end of the day, she wasn’t around, so hopefully she found a more suitable place to nest.

Through most of the year, wasps catch small insects and caterpillars to feed to their young, and in doing that, they can be very helpful as garden pest controllers. So I don’t mind wasps living in the garden, but just not right in the doorway of one of the sheds!

2 thoughts on “Queen wasp – nest building”

  1. I saw a queen Wasp climbing gingerly up a Laburnum tree branch just yesterday. I had supposed it was doing the same thing, building a nest.

    Kind Regards

    Tony Powell and naturestimeline

Leave a Reply

