A Strawberry Tree – Arbutus unedo

From time to time, I feel the need to acquire a specific plant. A few weeks ago, for no particular reason, I began to think it would be nice to have a strawberry tree (Arbutus unedo). I see these trees often in Portugal, and there are even a couple of straggly specimens growing wild quite local to me here in Wales, but it’s not a tree I’ve often seen in local nurseries or garden centres.

The idea became fixed in my mind that a strawberry tree would be just the thing for me, and so I went in search of a young tree.

1210strawberrytree-001b
Strawberry tree (Arbutus unedo) flowers

I was surprised and delighted to find a neglected specimen tucked away at a local nursery. Its pot was thickly covered with moss and liverworts and it was so pot bound that I had to cut the pot to extricate it. It’s now being mollycoddled for the winter before I’ll plant it out next year.

Strawberry trees flower very late in the year – October to December-ish. And, if the flowers are pollinated, the fruit (the so-called strawberry) will develop over the course of the next year so that fruits and flowers are both on the tree at the same time. It’s evergreen and will develop a lovely rich-reddish coloured shaggy bark as it gets older. It grows only slowly and will never grow to be super big, so it’s an ideal tree for a sheltered, medium-sized garden. Fingers crossed that my little rescue-tree revives and thrives.

(I found that the website of Waterlow Park in London had a nice page exploring the history and controversies surrounding the strawberry tree.)

3 thoughts on “A Strawberry Tree – Arbutus unedo”

  1. I have seen a lot of these trees in Greece. It was very hard to find a small one or one in a nursery. Finally we succeeded and planted 3 of them on my field in Greece. They are beautiful trees. Are they hardy?

Leave a Reply

