Butterfly eggs

These are the eggs of the large white (the clump of yellowish eggs) and small white (the single whitish eggs to the left and right) butterflies. Both butterflies are known as cabbage whites.

These eggs have been laid on nasturtium leaves: they prefer cabbages and other brassicas, but nasturtiums are a firm favourite food plant of the cabbage whites too.

Eggs of the large white (Pieris brassicae) and small white (Pieris rapae) butterflies. And a tiny newly hatched large white caterpillar.
Eggs of the large white (Pieris brassicae) and small white (Pieris rapae) butterflies. And a tiny newly hatched large white caterpillar.

I gave up growing cabbages in the garden because controlling the caterpillars of these two species of white butterflies on them was impossible. Well, impossible without chemicals. And I took the decision that gardening at home, for me, is gardening for  fun and pleasure; it’s not about necessity or earning an income. So, if things won’t grow successfully without plant protection products, I don’t grow them.  It’s a very different story when you’re growing a crop to feed your family or earn an income: choices are much harder then.

The photo below was taken about a fortnight later: the caterpillars are literally eating themselves out of house and home!

Caterpillars of the large white butterfly decimating a nasturtium
Caterpillars of the large white butterfly decimating a nasturtium

4 thoughts on “Butterfly eggs”

  1. Ha! That just sums up my garden at the moment! I am fighting like crazy to keep the white butterfly eggs down on my brassicas but it’s a real battle. 40-60 sets of eggs a night in a bed 1.5m x 1.5m. It’s my own fault though. They started off with full protection which worked really well but I had no idea the purple sprouting broccoli would grow so tall. I have learn a valuable lesson for next yr 🙂

Leave a comment